Gord Brown honoured to serve on Security and Intelligence committee

November 06, 2017

OttawaGord Brown, Member of Parliament for Leeds-Grenville – Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes, says he is honoured to be chosen to serve on the newly-announced Parliamentary Oversight National Security and Intelligence Committee.

            “I am pleased and honoured that the Prime Minister chose me to join this committee,” says Brown.

            Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, on November 6 announced the establishment of the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians, a multi-party committee that includes representatives from both the House of Commons and the Senate.
            A release from the Prime Minister’s office says the committee will have the authority to review national security and intelligence activities carried out across the Government of Canada.             This includes activities undertaken by the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, the Communications Security Establishment, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and the Canada Border Services Agency, amongst many others. The Committee’s mandate allows an unprecedented level of review and promotes government-wide accountability.
            The Committee will provide the Prime Minister with annual reports on its reviews – including any findings and recommendations – that will be tabled in both Houses of Parliament and referred to the appropriate Standing Committees. Special reports may also be issued as needed.
            The Committee was created under the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians Act, which received Royal Assent on June 22, 2017.
            Its work will mirror similar committees operating in other “Fives Eyes” countries which is a security alliance comprising Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.
The members of the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians will include: 

  • Gordon Brown, Conservative
  • The Honourable Tony Clement, P.C., Conservative
  • The Honourable Percy E. Downe, Senate
  • Emmanuel Dubourg, Liberal
  • The Honourable Hedy Fry, P.C., Liberal
  • Gudie Hutchings, Liberal
  • The Honourable Frances Lankin, P.C., C.M., Senate
  • David J. McGuinty, Liberal (Chair)
  • Murray Rankin, NDP
  • Brenda Shanahan, Liberal
  • The Honourable Vernon White, Senate